Lien Le

Page Unavailable

Lien Le

Payroll Specialist
Return To Team Members

Team Member Bio

No bio yet!

When I saw this job opportunity, I said to myself, "about time!". I strongly believe LiveCA will allow me to manage my personal and professional goals better. Working from home I can work efficiently, economically, and effectively.

The journey to my payroll career was not a planned one; I took some really good advice from a counsellor at a small community college and the rest is history! Originally, I graduated with a B.Sc in Botany from U of T and with that, I worked for a non-profit forestry association. I found myself wanting a new adventure so I went to Korea to teach English and to rethink my future career. When I returned to Canada, I decided to relocate to the west coast and by doing this, I met my now-husband. The City of Surrey is where my family decided to “plant” their new life and it's here that I researched a few colleges and programs while working part-time at a Veterinarian Laboratory in Langley, BC.

In 2009, I completed my Accounting & Payroll Administration Diploma from Vancouver Career College and after I landed great payroll roles working in the retail, manufacturing, non-profit, and hospitality industries. Aside from the mandatory continuing payroll education we payroll people have to do, I was able to complete the implementation program from the American Payroll Association (APA); the UK Payroll course from the Canadian Payroll Association (CPA); and the Self Employed Entrepreneur Society (SEEDS) program from the City of Surrey.

For over a year now, I have been working on completing my Group Benefits Associate (GBA) designation and I hope to pick it up now that I don’t need to commute to work. My commute time is being used as studying time. In my free time, I love to read. If I am not reading something, I am playing in dirt. As an amateur gardener, I love to plant anything to see what comes up. I am also learning how to cook with my younger sister who teaches me via video calls.

When possible, I love to do outdoor activities with my family like picnicking, biking, hiking, and camping. This year we are learning rollerblading. I am probably being over ambitious, but I hope to restart my latin dancing lessons again and finish my painting that I started 6 years ago. I also love trying Sangria recipes - like Sangria recipes, variety of activities are fun and adds colour to life!